tarantulatrash

Oh hallo, Mr ghost.

Posted in art, culture, film, life, lomo, lomography, photography, venting, writing by tarantulatrash on June 10, 2010

True ghost. I swear. Just floatin’ around in the house. Smenaaaaa.

I am horrendously irritable. It’s lasted a week. I’m hoping it goes away soon. Tonight I’m getting my hair done, which may help. It’s a month until my exhibition and I’m sooooo disorganised. I want so many things I can’t afford. I have 5 kilos too many on me at any given time. I’m sick of rude people. I’m sick of people talking mindless shit. I can’t tolerate it. I am a cynical semi-hermit.

I’m also going through a massive “I have no talent whatsoever” phase, which depresses me and makes me entirely unmotivated, and makes me feel like anyone could pick up a camera and take photos of similar or better quality and character.

BUT.  I don’t do this to impress people. I like the photos I take. No one else can take photos like I can, because they reflect me. They’re different, imperfect, and I have complete ownership over every one of them. (I have to keep telling myself that)

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. theforc said, on June 10, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Nice photo, congrats. Love the tangible sense of self-destruction in your words. And how you use getting your hair done to get your head in order. Nice.

  2. tarantulatrash said, on June 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Thanks, I appreciate it. I’ll update on whether or not the hairdresser solves all of my problems 🙂

  3. Beks said, on June 10, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Ash I can relate on most of that, remind yourself that what you do is for your own enjoyment primarily. If someone else happens to like it too, then awesomeness abounds! It’s not about talent, it’s about enjoying what you do.

    As for the 5 kilos, nothing a good run round the block and a visit to the lavvie won’t cure rofl!! Xx

  4. futiledemocracy said, on June 10, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    You are ridiculously talented. It amazes me that you have little confidence in the art you produce. Whether it’s drawn art, or photographic art, or poetry…….. you’re extremely talented. Every time I see one of your pictures, I feel so proud. I have not yet come across one of your photos that doesn’t have a hell of a lot of character. You have the sort of artistic mind that I wish I had.

  5. Graf said, on June 10, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Why does this Ghost look like Daniel?

  6. vivek said, on July 5, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    super duper!!!
    by the way, was it really a ghost!! 😛
    and u so much believe in urself!!
    strong n independent, i quite like u 🙂


Leave a Reply

