tarantulatrash

St Pat’s day and Buckfast.

Posted in art, culture, life, lomo, lomography, photography, Uncategorized, writing by tarantulatrash on March 17, 2010

It’s St Patrick’s day, so I thought I’d post a photo from Ireland. (A charcoal I did of this image is in my blog somewhere, one of the first posts I think)

The week I spent in Cork was ridiculous. I didn’t go to bed earlier than 6am once, gained about 5 kilos from eating chips with garlic mayonnaise, and was introduced by a certain Australian guy to the most lethal wine I have encountered –  Buckfast.

This shit is brutal. It’s packed full of caffeine, has a high alcohol content and is so sweet you can drink half a bottle at the same rate you would swig a can of coke.  There is controversy surrounding it for “causing antisocial behaviour”. I can’t remember a lot that happened after my encounter with Buckie, but I’m sure that night could be put under the “antisocial” umbrella. From memory, the night ended with myself and another backpacker wandering the street at 4am looking for a hotel room, when we already had beds back at our own hostel. Buckfast=Mess. I would most definitely drink it again.

Before the Buckie experience began (we were seemingly already blurred). Notice the massive bottles of 3 Euro Tesco cider. We were all class in Cork.

Happy St Pat’s day guys! Thanks for reading my blog by the way. I’m so pumped that people are actually reading it 🙂

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ed said, on March 18, 2010 at 12:09 am

    buckfast ey!

  2. Jay-Jay said, on March 19, 2010 at 5:50 am

    My god, that Buckfast wine is pure evil – the affect it has on ordinarily sane folks.

    Congratulations on having yourself a few readers – richly deserved, as yours is by far one of the more interesting out there.


Leave a Reply

