tarantulatrash

In the spirit of hating on the direction photography is going…

Posted in art, culture, funny, humour, photography, photoshop, venting by tarantulatrash on March 12, 2010

I found an old blog I wrote, around 2 years back.

Please, when reading this, understand that I am aware that the application of photoshop can result in some magnificent art, and some artists, for example Bastien Biomechanical Artwork (B. in my blogroll, who I will blog about later on) use digital manipulation in an incredible way. I just get quite frustrated with its overuse and the reliance that people now have on it, particularly when it is used to make their images LOOK like they were taken with film. It is one thing to make photography and image manipulation very accessible to everyone, but photoshop can really taking the artistry out of photography.


“I’ll be an artist yet”

I am yet to understand why people seem intent on ruining photography.

I went to a photographic exhibition a while back, paid my $2 donation at the door, and ended up walking out after 10 minutes in pure awe. not awe, as in “zomg what amazing work, I am truly inspired to better my own” awe. Awe, as in “wtf? I don’t even know what day it is anymore.”

The majority of photos in the exhibition were well taken, with great lighting, subject matter and composition. I was quite impressed with one of the featured photographers, a man called Bradley King- gorgeous black and whites of candid moments and beautiful macro shots with amazing vibrant colours. His photos, although edited digitally, seemed untouched- as though you were looking through the lens yourself at the moment he had captured. Beautiful photography.

The remainder of the work had the potential to be what I would consider “aesthetically pleasing”. That was until the photographer decided they would “move with technology”. They bought Adobe Photoshop CS4 for a cool $800 at Harvey Norman, took a night course, and learnt how to make their photos look like a three year old scribbled on it with a metallic pen, and then threw up on it. I have taken the liberty of taking these steps myself, somewhat-

-downloading photoshop for a cool $0

-playing with it for half an hour

-ruining a perfectly good photo

and I have included a demonstration of how you, too, can become an exhibited digital photographer.

It is as easy as that!! my photo went from this-

to this!!! IN TWO EASY STEPS!!!!! TWO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m gonna be rich.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. brent said, on March 12, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    clever. good reading logical flow, obvious passion and your grandfather would have loved it.

  2. futiledemocracy said, on March 12, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    It depends how you link Photoshop and Photography. If you seem them as a linear progression, from one to the other, then yes, photoshop completely destroys the artistic nature of Photography. Ansel Adams and Diane Arbus would turn in their graves.
    For me though, analogue photography and digital photography are two separate art mediums.

    In my opinion, they should not be viewed as similar, or a naturally progressed artistic medium. I’m awful at analogue Photography, but I know I’m pretty good with my digital photography. The way I see it, is that i’m pretty sure Picasso would not have been too talented if he’d have tried his hand at the humanist Renaissance style of people like Caravagio. But at his own style, he’s a genius.

    • tarantulatrash said, on March 13, 2010 at 2:13 pm

      See the issue I have at the moment is with people using photoshop to “create” film-style shots. Polaroid stopped producing its instant film in 2008 to devote more energy towards improving its digital products. It is because of this use of digital manipulation that people don’t “need” to use film anymore, and the industry, and art along with it, will inevitably die out. 120 film is now ridiculously expensive, 110 and 120 cartridges you can’t even buy anymore, and chrome film is impossible to get developed. It makes me sad that in 20 years, I may not even be able to develop 35mm. (P.S this is why we have to build a darkroom in our house)

  3. futiledemocracy said, on March 12, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I meant, if you SEE them as a linear progression* 🙂


Leave a Reply

